Textile and Leather in Algeria

Algerian textile and leather companies, which still resist the multiple constraints linked to the effects of massive imports, hold less than 10% of the Algerian market, the textile and clothing subsidiary which is in second position after the Agri-food sector , with respect to its importance and strong local consumption and whose needs are in the order of 150 million items annually while the national sector covers only 4% of these needs, and the rest is invaded at 94% by import.


Following efforts by the state to revitalize these sectors, we note that the textile, knitwear and garment industries have climbed by nearly 12%.


The Textile sector is a promising strategic sector that has strong assets, which makes it possible to achieve a workforce of 2 billion Euros Textile-Clothing export by 2022 according to the statistics and plans of actions proposed by industry experts....


Just like leather, hundreds of Algerian factories specialize in the production and processing of leather with a production capacity of 9 million square feet of bovine leather / year, which offers services for the outsourcing of bovine skins and goats at any stage of manufacturing and at unbeatable prices. These industries grew 4.2% in the first quarter of 2016 with an increase of 6.5%.


For the leather and footwear industry, Algeria intends to achieve a "strong partnership" under the 51-49% rule with foreign companies, especially Italian or Turkish companies, for the transfer of technology and expertise in this industrial branch, in order to be able to rebound in the domestic market, where the demand for quality products is strong. Focusing on training that will benefit 200 million DZD.


Algerian economic operators are looking for ways to revive its sectors which are rich niches and which can make big money for Algeria in terms of export and investment.

Le Textile en Algérie

Les entreprises Algériennes du textile et cuir, qui résistent encore aux contraintes multiples liées aux effets des importations massives, détiennent moins de 10% du marché Algérien, la filiale du textile et de l’habillement qui est de second position après le secteur Agro-alimentaire, vis-à-vis son importance et la forte consommation locale et dont les besoins sont à l’ordre de 150 millions d’articles annuellement alors que le secteur national couvre seulement 4% de ces besoins, et le reste est envahi à 94% par l’importation.


Suite aux efforts fournit par l’état afin de redynamiser ces secteurs, on remarque que les industries textiles, bonneterie et confection ont grimpé de prés de 12%.


Tout Comme pour le cuir des centaines d’usines Algériennes sont spécialisés dans la production et la transformation du cuir avec une capacité de production de 9 millions de pieds carrés de cuir bovin/an qui propose des services pour la sous-traitance des peaux bovines et caprines à n'importe quel stade de la fabrication et à des prix défiant toute concurrence. Ces industries ont connues une croissance de 4,2% au premier trimestre 2016 avec une augmentation de 6,5% .


Pour l'industrie des cuirs et chaussures, L’Algérie compte réaliser un «partenariat solide» selon la règle 51-49% avec des entreprises étrangères notamment italiennes ou Turques pour le transfert de technologie et de savoir faire dans cette branche industrielle, pour pouvoir rebondir sur le marché national, où la demande en produits de qualité est fort. En mettant l’accent sur la formation qui bénéficiera de 200 millions de Dinars.


Les opérateurs économiques Algériens sont à la recherche de formules pour relancer ses secteurs qui sont des créneaux riches et qui peuvent rapporter gros à l’Algérie en matière d’exportation et d’investissement.


En conclusion ; le secteur du Textile en Algérie est un secteur stratégique porteur d’avenir qui dispose de puissants atouts, qui permet d’atteindre un effectif de 2 milliards d’euro d’exportation Textile-Habillement à l’horizon 2022 selon les statistiques et les plans d’actions proposés par les experts de la filière.